Psalm 13:6

 

“I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.” – Psalm 13:6

A few weeks ago a friend of mine, and fellow YoungLife leader played a clip for us during Club that stunned me.  The scene opened with an older couple dancing together in a room.  They are enjoying one another’s company, and you can tell they love each other very much.  Seemingly out of nowhere the woman, who has Alzheimer’s, forgets the man she is dancing with.  She panics and thinks he is there to harm her, and immediately backs away from him in fear.

It is a heartbreaking scene, and yes it is from the Notebook, but he played it to help illustrate something that we often do in our relationship with Christ.  So often God will show up in our lives in a miraculous way; we will see this, possibly acknowledge it, and then we will move on.  I have seen this in my life time and time again.  God will provide wonderfully for a need I have, He will make a trip run successfully, a conversation will be blessed by Him, and then I will move on.

We quickly forget the one we love, and then we shrink back into the corner the next time we face a trial, or come up against adversity.  This attitude is a huge flaw in my faith, and something I know I am not alone in.  This is why Psalm 13:6 hits so close to my heart.

I serve a God who deals bountifully with me, day in and day out He loves me, and He provides for my every need, and yet I forget him often.  Each morning all of us on Summit staff here at LeaderTreks get together to spend time in the Word, pray, and talk with one another.  It is a time to help center us before our work day begins, and to help build community among the staff.  Recently we have taken time each morning to celebrate.  If we have seen God move in a way in our lives we share it with the rest of the staff.

It has been truly amazing to see how often, and in what amazing ways God shows up in our lives.  I have been reminded in this time how many times even in one week God will work through a situation that we found to be hopeless or pointless.  We have seen God provide financially for staff members, provide interns and full time staff member applicants, provide answers for prayers long prayed, provide grounds to heal broken relationships, and so much more.

I want to encourage anyone reading this today that God is at work in your life as well.  Even in times when you feel stuck, that no one is listening, or that hope is lost, God is not absent.  He will work, and His plan will be greater than anything you could have ever imagined.  Faith is not an easy journey, but it is one that, when we look for it, is filled with joy, hope, and amazing stories of how our God provides.

I want to challenge each of you with something.  For one week, whenever you do your devotions, or when you get up, or before you go to sleep at night, find one way that God has moved in your life that day.  Even something that seems as simple as a conversation with a close friend, or an interaction with a stranger.  The simple seeking of God’s hand in your life will open your eyes to even more of the amazing ways that He has been acting.  It will encourage you in ways I am sure you would not have even imagined, and it will stand as a solid reminder in those times when you may feel all is lost that God deals bountifully with us all.

One thought on “Psalm 13:6

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑